Stats

Discussions for the Charlie Finley League.
historymann49

Stats

Post by historymann49 »

Hi everyone:
I'm new to Sim and I have been surprised to see that many of my players have compiled stats well below what their skill ratings would seem to indicate. I realize that chance comes into play, but we've played over 50 games now and I would have expected chance outcomes to have evened out. And some "chance" outcomes seem really bizarre - like nearly an entire lineup being in slumps at the same time. Have any of you experienced anything similar? Should I be more patient? I enjoy participating, but.......
Tom (Brooklyn)
JonW1222

Re: Stats

Post by JonW1222 »

Yeah, I have a closer that falls into that category. With the exception of him actually getting saves, the rest of his stats suck.
http://www.simdynasty.com/player.jsp?pl ... d=12832287
Beanballs

Post by Beanballs »

One thing you have to consider about the sim is that seasons (especially here in the trial leagues) are small sample sizes, even decades would be considered small sample sizes.

Some things to consider when analyzing players skills, power is generally more important than contact (but low grades in either are to be avoided), speed plays a role in base running but almost as importantly it plays a large role in getting on base (especially when combined with a high bunting skill), control for pitchers is more important than velocity (a B-/A+ velocity/control pitcher can be a stud while a A+/B- vel/cont pitcher will be erratic), but as with hitters low grades in a skill will make a player ineffective.

Another factor in the skills is that a grade is a range, it has a number underneath the grade, so if a player is A+ he could be anywhere from 92-100, take a look at this page:

http://rules.simdynasty.com/index.php/S ... cal_Values