Upcoming changes

Admin
Site Admin

Upcoming changes

Post by Admin »

Sim Dynasty is approaching 20 years old... and so is its codebase. It might feel charming and quaint, but in reality the dated interface is frustrating, especially with so many owners using tablets and phones as their primary access method.

As we go into 2020, there are a lot of changes and upgrades planned to pull the game into the modern age. A ground-up redesign of the architecture is underway. I've been writing code 12-14 hours a day for a couple of months and the the Football beta is already running on the new platform, and I am working on bringing the front end in line with it. In addition, we are working on migrating the site to the Amazon cloud structure, which will give us more resources. We will end up with a much more interactive and responsive site.

Unfortunately, the downside is that some older browsers may be left behind. I am doing my best to have pages "break" gracefully and still allow alternate functionality, but those who are stuck on 8 year old browsers may have issues. The main problem child, as usual, is Internet Explorer, which is no longer getting updated since Edge took over. Right now we should be good back to IE 11, and I am going to try to push that to IE 9.

I am currently surveying the browser usage... I thought I could just ignore the really old browsers but once I enabled the survey, the very first browser that connected was IE 9. If I see you on an older browser, I may contact you to ask you to connect to a test page briefly.

If you are using an older browser or a less common one, I encourage you to join the football beta team. Even if you aren't interested in football, you'll get an early shot at how the interface will work, as my goal is to share as much code as possible between the two platforms. The football instant messaging and chat system is all new from the ground up so it is a good test for older browsers.